Later Jewish – Painting Progress

Finally, I managed to start painting some of my 15mm Later Jewish from the Hasmonean/Herodian dynasty. One very tight painting weekend added some decent colours to these lads. I avoided the colours green, light red and purple. Green didn’t seem to be an adequate choice, as the bases are all held in a very “sandy” tone (with original sand from the Negev desert, thanks to my sister). Purple and light red were colours I will spare for the commanders and Rabbies, so that they could be identified more easily on the battlefield.

The horses were by far the most fun to paint, for they added a very welcome variety in the model range. I really look forward to paint some banners and musicians.

DSC06765

DSC06767

DSC06770

DSC06771

DSC06772

DSC06773

DSC06774

DSC06776

DSC06777

Sadly, my painting progress was way too slow to complete the army right in time for the Vivat in one week. But on the other hand, I managed to produce some coloured battle groups which begin to look like a proper army. I hope I will be able to finish them until November, when there also will be Rabbies, Standard Bearers, heavy cavalry and much more pike infantry to see, so stay tuned.

Leave a comment

Filed under Later Jewish, Painting

Leave a Reply

